Favorite New-ish Audiobooks

This month I would like to focus on one of my favorite ways to read–audiobooks! Every week I will focus on some crowd-pleasing new-ish (2015-17) audiobooks. This week’s spotlighted subcategory is “Audiobooks Narrated by the Author:”

viewfromthecheapseats

A View from the Cheap Seats: Selected Nonfiction written and narrated by Neil Gaiman Let’s begin with my favorite author/narrator: Neil Gaiman. Whether he is reading Charles Dickens, Edgar Allen Poe or one of his own children’s books, his voice is simply wonderful. Don’t believe me? Check out A View from the Cheap Seats–a series of speeches, essays, and book introductions Gaiman has written over the years. I won’t be giving anything away if I confide that my favorite selections deal with the wonder and importance of libraries. With the short length of each piece this is the perfect audiobook to listen to on short trips around town.

yearofyes

Year of Yes: How to Dance it Out, Stand in the Sun and Be Your Own Person written and narrated by Shonda Rhimes Okay, I admit it. I am mildly obsessed with this book. As an introverted librarian in rural CT, I initially questioned what I could possibly have in common with Shonda Rhimes–the hit creator, writer, and producer of mega-hits Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal, and How to Get Away with Murder. Well, I promise you there will be parts of this eye-opening book that relate directly to your life no matter how far removed you may feel from an iconic television writer like Ms. Rhimes. Give it a listen. You will not be disappointed.

bassoonking

The Bassoon King: My Life in Art, Faith, and Idiocy written and narrated by Rainn Wilson Rainn Wilson is an actor–best known for his role as Dwight Schrute on The Office. Wilson is also the founder of Soul Pancake–a media company that believes in the power of art to bring joy and awareness to the world. Wilson is sincere and very funny in his writing and narration of this book. Add to all this an unusual upbringing and a fascinating look into the Baha’i faith and you have an interesting and highly entertaining audiobook.

Leave a Reply

