Not My Father’s Son by Alan Cumming

notmyfathersson

Even though I’ve been proven wrong time and time again, I am always wary about celebrity memoirs. In the case of Not My Father’s Son, I thought, could a person be gifted at acting, singing, dancing, AND writing? Well, let me tell you, the answer is a resounding YES. Alan Cumming’s writing is painful and honest and beautiful. He brings the reader into the most vulnerable parts of his life and he does so with plenty of honesty and humor. A must read.

For more surprisingly poignant memoirs by talented celebrities, check these out:

Stories I Only Tell My Friends by Rob Lowe

Born with Teeth by Kate Mulgrew

Just Kids by Patti Smith

Leave a Reply

