Finding Time, Gaining Knowledge

Between working at the library and being a part time college student, my life is pretty busy. Unfortunately I don’t have the time to read as much as I’d like, but magazines are perfect for an abundance of quick, interesting information. Magazines have an array of diverse articles (and pictures) about countless different subjects. They keep me up-to-date with all the new things happening in the world, but don’t require the same focused time dedication of a book.

I wasn’t always a fan of magazines. Before I was assigned responsibility to add the new issues every week, I had always thought that they were somewhat useless and just contained an overwhelming amount of ads. Of course I couldn’t resist reading the tempting celebrity flub ups on every tabloid cover once in a while, but in general my interest level for any magazine was at a zero.

Each week as I added the new issues, interesting cover stories began to peak my interest. It started off as checking out one, just to satisfy my curiosity. But then I began to really enjoy browsing through the magazines and before I knew it I was checking out numerous magazines and soaking up all the information they held.

I’ll keep a couple issues in my car in case I’m early to an appointment. I have one in my kitchen for when I am eating breakfast of having a snack. And I always have at least one in my room for when I am suffering from an “I’m so bored” moment. Magazines are always a refreshing quick read to me. By keeping them strategically placed and constantly rotating, I am pleasantly surprised by how up to date with the world I feel.

When flipping through a Vogue magazine at OWL, I saw an image in the magazine that caught my eye. The picture below was on an article titled, “Climate Control: The Rain Room at MoMA”.

RainRoom11

(Link to article Http://bit.ly/13t7RIi)

The Article described a temporary traveling exhibit at the MoMA called the rain room, where thanks to new technology, a room with a constant downpour of rain can sense when a person enters and will shut off the rain where it detects a person. This allows someone to stand in a downpour and not even get wet!

Always being up for an adventure, my boyfriend and I hopped on the train to New York City, where we visited the MoMA, and saw the exhibit first hand.

It was truly an incredible experience! I also got a year membership to the MoMA (thanks to my boyfriend), so I can go back and explore the rest of the museum at any time.

                     Below are a few of the many images I took

Rain Room 2    Rain Room 5Rain Room 6

My favorite magazines that I always flip through (in order) are Family Fun, Country Living, Marie Claire, and People. Although I still read a number of other magazines not listed, these are my favorite.

cupcakessorbet

Family Fun can be found in the children’s room next to the children’s new books collection. A reason I love this magazine so much is because it is very simple, but has some of the most interesting crafts, easy decorative food, and very simple and easy recipes. As a college student still learning much about the world, I have yet to discover my inner master chef and the recipes in this magazine are quick and easy to follow.

Cupcakes (Deep-Sea Sweets) pg. 28 August 2013 issue

Banana Berry Sorbet Recipe pg. 11 June/July 2013 issue

Country Living is another favorite title; I absolutely cannot wait for the new issue to come in monthly. It’s something like waiting for the next episode of a favorite T.V. series. The reason this magazine is in my top choices is because of all the home decorating ideas. Although I also will flip through Better Homes & Gardens, Country Living often has the most inspiring décor. Even though the items listed in the magazines can sometimes be pricey, I can often find versions of the items cheaper online. Or if there is a photo of a well decorated room I note the color schemes and items that catch my eye, and use it as future reference when redecorating a room at home.

Marie Claire and People are the best eye candy. With all the fashion and products jumping out at you, it can really get your mind going for ideas. The photos of the models are endless and can leave you with new inspiration to try in your wardrobe.

You’d be surprised at what magazines hide under their covers. At the Oliver Wolcott Library we have over 60 subscriptions to a variety of different magazines. There is certainly something for everyone. The only rule for the library is that the latest issue is not allowed to circulate until the next issue replaces it, so that patrons can always come to the library and read the most current issue of their favorite magazine.

We hold magazines issues up to a year back, and then they are deleted from the catalog and put in the free magazine bin. Old issue weeding is done about once a month, so if you need magazines for a collage or just like to have them, be sure to keep a look out for the free magazine bin around the end of the first week every month.

Here is a list of the magazines the Oliver Wolcott Library subscribes to;

Untitled2

Jackie is a Library Assistant at OWL~

2 thoughts on “Finding Time, Gaining Knowledge

  1. Hey there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  2. My developer is trying to persuade me to move to .
    net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on numerous websites for about a year and am nervous about
    switching to another platform. I have heard good things about blogengine.
    net. Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress posts into
    it? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

