The End

I love surprises. I like little surprises when children leave coloring pages and love letters on my desk. I like big surprises when I come home to my favorite dinner cooked by my husband. Of course, my favorite surprises are unpredictable ones. My husband and I found ourselves in a new address before the end of 2009. It was something that caught us by surprise as the year progressed.

As we find ourselves settling in to our new residence, we have entered into hibernation mode. It’s dark by the time we get home from work; we’re sleepy after a hearty meal; and we want to curl up with a good story in front of our new fireplace.

In the spirit of ending the year 2009 on a surprising note, I thought I’d share my favorite surprise ending stories:

I know you’ve probably already either seen or read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (J ROW or DVD SCI-FIC/FANT HAR SOR) but I think it’s fantastic enough to require a repeat reading. When Harry finds out the truth about Snape, I am still floored! I’ve read this series multiple times and watch as many movies as I can fit in every time I’m home sick. The ending still shocks me!

I bet some of you are really big into planning. All of my fellow librarians will tell you that I have my moments! But I bet none of you can compare to the protagonist in Lucky 7 (DVD COMEDY LUC). Amy’s life revolves around a timeline her mother created for her before she died. She follows the plan to a T and her seventh boyfriend will be “The One.” When her sixth boyfriend turns out to be Patrick Dempsey (a.k.a. McDreamy), she has to decide whether or not to abandon the timeline. You know who would get my vote! I think I’ll check this one out again while I wait for “Grey’s Anatomy” to return to the airwaves!

If you don’t know who Keyser Soze is, you have to checkout The Usual Suspects (DVD ACTION USU)! Kevin Spacey’s performance as a crippled witness to a crime is phenomenal and overshadows the acting skills of Gabriel Byrne and Chazz Palminteri.

M. Night Shyamalan’s films are always a (sometimes pleasant) surprise. The gifted child actors distract you from figuring out the unexpected plot twists. Enjoy Abigail Breslin’s first film role in Signs (DVD SCI-FIC/FANT SIG). Her character, although minor, plays a pivotal role in the film’s ending. It’s hard for me to look at Haley Joel Osment without hearing the eerie “I see dead people” whisper in my ear. Bruce Willis tries to keep up with him in The Sixth Sense (DVD MYS/SUSP SIX) as he plays a doctor trying to help him. (I can’t get anything past you…Donnie Wahlberg from the New Kids on the Block has a tiny role in The Sixth Sense. It’s probably the real reason I love this movie so much!)

With a star studded cast, the Ocean’s trilogy (DVD ACTION OCE) tops my list for best movie series. With the witty banter of George Clooney and Brad Pitt, and quirky humor of Matt Damon these movies are gems. Just when you think you figured the ending out, you’re wrong! Again, and again the ensemble fools you. I have to have a viewing of these at least once per winter!

What did I miss? What’s your favorite surprise ending story? Please share so I can add it to my winter list!

Lisa Shaia is the children’s librarian who will not be making any resolutions this year. She’d rather be surprised again next year.

2 thoughts on “The End

  1. Awesome! I love surprise endings, too. Here are a few of my favorites: To Live and Die in LA with William Petersen and Willem Dafoe; Eight Million Ways to Die with Jeff Bridges, Rosanna Arquette, and Andy Garcia; Brainstorm with Christopher Walken in Natalie Wood’s last film; The Professional (aka Leon) with Jean Reno and Natalie Portman; and here’s a Kevin Costner suspense trilogy wherein surprises abound: Revenge with Anthony Quinn, Against All Odds with Rachel Ward, and No Way Out with Gene Hackman.

Leave a Reply

