It’s My Turn Again?!

typing

Wow, five weeks go by fast. When I realized it was my turn to write the blog again, I needed to find some inspiration–and fast! I immediately went to the writing section (808s) and browsed for ideas when I came across How to Get Ideas by Jack Foster (808.06 FOS). There was a proven five-step method for producing ideas. Great! I’ll get started:

1) Define the Problem: Ok, I need a blog ASAP!

2) Gather the Information: Hmm…I don’t have any information. For the past five weeks, I haven’t read a book above the preschool level (I’m near the bottom of the list for Dan Brown’s new Lost Symbol). The only movie I watched was Freedom Writers (DVD FRE DRAMA) and its inspiration did not rub off. And, I’m waiting patiently for the new TV season of Heroes (YA DVD HER) to begin airing…

3) Search for the Idea: Ok, I have a few…

  • My miserable time at Yankee Stadium (Unfortunately I can’t really complain about the Yankees because they’re currently in first place. I still can’t believe my body allowed me to not only walk through the gates, but to also sit through an entire game.)
  • My weekend getaway in Newport (It was too hot to do much and we hid in the air conditioning.)
  • The fall is approaching (Yeah, so?!)
  • The woes of writing a blog. (Hmm, I think I’m on to something.)

4) Forget About It: Done! I went home, did laundry, watched a movie and cooked dinner. Wow, that was easy! But, I still don’t have a blog.

5) Put the Idea into Action: Now comes the hard part. There is a lot of inspirational advice, such as give yourself a reason (my job depends on it), give yourself a deadline (it’s already late!) and start right now (I am).

Foster explains techniques to let your creative juices squeeze out. Here are some ways OWL can help condition your mind:

i spy

Be More Like a Child: This suggestion is right up my alley! I’m not a word jumble, crossword puzzle, sodoku kind of gal. I much prefer the mind games of I Spy (JP WIC and JE MAR). These exercises will loosen up your brain to promote some creative thinking.

writer's idea

Become Idea-Prone: Here’s an easy one to find at OWL. My personal favorite is The Writer’s Idea Book by Jack Heffron (808.02 HEF). There are ideas in here to inspire anyone–even the dreaded procrastinator–to bring out your inner David Sedaris!

knucklehead

Visualize Success and Rejoice in Failure: The biography section is filled with great stories of accomplishments and tribulations of others. My current personal fav is Jon Scieszka’s Knucklehead (JB SCIESZKA). He writes about being the second oldest in a house full of boys. If he could survive those conditions and find a way to thrive, you surely can!

roscoe

Break the Rules: Nobody knows how to break the rules better than Roscoe Riley (J APP SERIES). He begins his first story in the “Roscoe Riley Time Out Corner!” His adventures in school are always hilarious. After all, as Roscoe says, “There are too many rules to remember them all!”

what if pirate

Play the “What If?” Game: Take yourself on an imaginary adventure back in time. Jan Adkins’ What If series will help you on your way. What If You Met a Pirate? (J 910.45 ADK) is so vivid in description, Johnny Depp practically popped out of the spine!

So, where do you find your inspiration? (I could use all the help I can get!)

Lisa Shaia is the children’s librarian. (I know, it’s my most boring byline ever!)

2 thoughts on “It’s My Turn Again?!

  1. Ah, yes, the dreaded writer’s block! Thanks for the interesting and funny blog entry. PS – I am a major fan of the other Sedaris (Amy) including her show Strangers With Candy (Jerri: “Maybe it’s time to stop not doing what you pretended you can do and can’t, and start doing the thing that you can’t do, but can no longer pretend that you can.”)

Leave a Reply

