If I could live anywhere…

I would live in Shermer, Illinois–the fictional town where writer/producer/director John Hughes’ 80’s classics are predominantly set.  If it existed, I’m convinced, Shermer would be the epitome of a down-to-earth, suburban, Midwestern town.

Growing up I always wished my high school experience would be a little more reminiscent of a Hughes film–especially Sixteen Candles.  Sure I had an annoying little brother (in fact, I have 2), but I never met a hunky senior who could double for Matt Dillon, and I never had a geeky stalker quite as outlandish as Farmer Ted.

There was something incredibly unselfconscious about Hughes’ teen films.  Now-a-days it’s anathema for a sweet, teen-friendly, high school film to portray teenagers misbehaving and making mistakes, especially if these involve sex and/or alcohol.  A film is either entirely wholesome or ridiculously raunchy–Hughes’ movies provided a wonderful balance where teenagers would definitely get into mischief but were overwhelmingly good kids who happened to be floundering a bit on their path to adulthood.

In addition to Hughes’ teen flicks–Sixteen Candles, Weird Science, The Breakfast Club, and Ferris Bueller’s Day Off –he created some wonderful movies portraying adults, the best of these are Planes, Trains, & Automobiles and the incomparable Uncle Buck.

Uncle Buck is one of my absolute favorite movies!  John Candy created one of the most memorable characters I’ve ever come across–Buck is a sweet, bumbling, good man who has a hysterical and incredibly positive impact on his neices and nephews.  I, for one, have my own “Uncle Buck,” which may be one of the reasons why I love the movie so much.  It’s a film I’ve seen over a dozen times and I know that by the time I’m 30 I’ll probably have watched it a half dozen more.

So, if you’re looking for something light, sweet, and fun–rent a John Hughes’ movie from OWL (although, I should warn you that the majority of our staff are huge fans as well, so if your favorite Hughes’ film is checked out, it’s probably at home in one of our DVD players).

~Tricia is the youth librarian at OWL and will miss everyone terribly when she moves to Massachusetts (especially all the beautiful little ones I’ve been blessed to work with over the past 3 years), but I look forward to coming back often as a patron, whenever I’m in the area visiting my future in-laws, as well as my good friends here at the OWL.

5 thoughts on “If I could live anywhere…

  1. Good luck in Massachusetts, Tricia.

    Your tenure at OWL has been rewarding for all of us – not only for the little ones but the entire library community.

    We will look forward to your visits. We hope they are frequent.

    Bob

  2. I wish you(and your fiance) the best Tricia- I will miss you dearly as you are fantastic to work with and a great mind to “pick”. The OWL Blogosphere will miss you too–

  3. Tricia-
    I also wish you the best of luck and hope you visit us often. Total agreement with everything everyone has said. We’ll all miss you. And I’ll definitely miss your excellent blogs!

  4. Best of luck to Tricia

    Uncle Buck is one of my most favorite flicks ever! So many classic moments in that film including the huge pancake that he has to flip with a shovel! Ha ha !

Leave a Reply

