The summer night is like a perfection of thought. ~Wallace Stevens

Summer is finally upon us YEA! Summer gives us the time to slow down and enjoy the long days of warmth and sunshine. The whole world just feels differently. As I write this, it is the last day of school in Litchfield. I am secretly (or not so secretly) over joyed on this day. I love summer — every day. I love having my kids home . It is great to sleep that extra hour in the morning– no rolling out of bed at 6am grumpy, only to greet an even grumpier teenager. No more hearing “MOM you woke me up late– I need to get up at 7am!” from my tween. No more guessing what they want for lunch…. it is just a little task but by the end of the school year I HATE MAKING SCHOOL LUNCHES. I know what you are thinking– how hard is it to make two lunches in the morning? Well it is not difficult but the monotony just gets to me– I know you Moms out there are nodding your heads in agreement on this–

  Summer gives us all the time to chill out ~ enjoy family and friends. Most people are happy to go to work… we can get out of the “office” and dash home to still have hours of sunshine. Time to light the BBQ, time to sit back on the front porch to read or to chat or better yet to sit back and enjoy the sounds of summer: the neighborhood children laughing and yelling at each other, the sizzle of the grill and that distinctive “whap” of the screen door slamming. (every Mom in America screaming– Don’t let the door SLAM) As a whole, the mood seems friendlier–mellow.

  This summer may be a little different as we are all feeling the pinch in our pockets. The high cost of gas, groceries and electricity is slowing almost everyone down. In the MacLaren household we usually do not travel on vacation but as a family we do take time off and just relax. I love being home. No rush for dinner– just slowing down and enjoying each others company. It is not long before the kids will be gone– exploring their own lives.  So I am going to enjoy tossing the ball/frisbee or listening to unending chatter of my Kate. I will tuck away every silent minute I spend just hanging out with Alex– for quicker than a blink of an eye the summer will be over and off to school they will grumpily abound.

Your local Library has many resources available to enhance your summer. Here at the OWL we have Tons O’ Fun packed into our beautiful historic home.

Assorted Museum Passes plus the Connecticut State Park Pass Free or discounted admission – click the link for more information from our website

Adult and Children Programs Look on our website for more information on our FUN programs

Ready to barbecue?

Bobby Flay’s Grilling For Life 641.5 FLA Enjoy many healthy recipes for the grill

Bobby Flay’s Boy Meets Grill 641.578 FLA. 125 Bold no-nonsense and easy to follow grilling recipes

The Outrageous Outdoor Games Book by Bob Gregson J796 GRE 133 games– outrageous originals to all-time favorites!

Trout Streams of Southern New England by Tom Fuller 799.1 FUL An Angler’s Guide to the Watersheds of Massachusetts, Connecticut and Rhode Isand

and finally, a game played with obsession in my family– Badminton by Steven Boga 796.345 BOG Get the rules to set everyone straight!( although I vote for the game of Zim Zam — does anyone remember that game from the 80s?–)

Charlotte CooperPost is written by Audra– Zim Zam Champion of the WORLD

Then followed that beautiful season… Summer….
Filled was the air with a dreamy and magical light; and the landscape
Lay as if new created in all the freshness of childhood.
~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

4 thoughts on “The summer night is like a perfection of thought. ~Wallace Stevens

  1. Audra, this was your best blog ever! So sweet, put a little tear in my eye… :o) We also love badminton! We found a little net & rackets in our basement when we moved in, we just played last Sunday! :o)
    Thanks for sharing…

  2. Great post! I love everything about summer, including the heat and the insanity of Summer Reading. I also enjoy badminton–perhaps a staff tournament is in order. =)

  3. I loved your post Audra! It brought a little tear to my eye too. Thanks for reminding me about all the small, yet valuable, pieces of a summer day.
    Cheryl 🙂

  4. Perfectly, and poetically, said! Summer is my favorite month, and I agree, the world definitly feels a little lighter with all that glorious sunshine…too bad it goes by so quickly!

    Just to add to the record: I love badminton too (and tennis!!)

Leave a Reply

