Oliver Wolcott Library

life at the library

  • Oliver Wolcott Library

  • Join the OWL on Facebook

  • Archives

The Mysterious Case of the Blue Teeth!

Posted by Sarai on January 22, 2009

So I’m here, another wonderful night at Oliver Wolcott Library with my partner in crime Audra, when I notice in the mirror that my teeth appear to be blue!? What? Were they really blue, or was it just the lighting? I immediately approached Audra and asked her, and she indeed confirmed that they appeared blue. Now what could cause this mysterious occurrence, when only hours before my teeth were normal? I thought that perhaps it was the bottle of Raspberry Kombucha I was drinking (Kobucha is a healthful Japanese tea which can be mixed with juice, in this case, pure raspberry juice). But certainly raspberry juice alone could not color my teeth like that (could it?), and besides I had drank it before and nothing happened. To make things more comical and ironic, I was wearing a blue ensemble that day (shirt, pants, shoes…I kid you not!). So, what to do? I made haste to OWL’s vast medical books section to see if I could find an answer.

Here’s some interesting and helpful books I found about teeth and dental issues (sounds boring, but teeth are more intricate to our health than we know!):

The Complete Book of Dental Remedies-This book covers everything tooth AND mouth related, so if you’ve got problems with your jaw that’s also covered in here. I enjoyed how the beginning of the book contained a section on Herbal Therapy, since I’m very much into alternative medicines/healing. They give a short description of the herb and then what it can commonly be used for.Cloves,for instance, help sore gums and ease teeth pain, as well as freshening breath! Mmmm! The section on Stained Teeth also suggests that coffee and tea are commonly known for staining enamel or grooves of teeth. (617.6 STA)

The Columbia University School of Dental and Oral Surgery: A detailed and in-depth look at teeth in general, taking care of your teeth and problems that may occur. The book also has a section on other types of diseases, like heart disease, which can be aggravated by tooth problems. (617.6 SMI).

The Excruciating History of Dentistry: Now here’s an interesting book! Even if you find the subject of teeth boring, this book is worth a read, or at least a glimpse at some of the remedies used throughout the centuries for tooth trouble. For example, in China one remedy was such: “roast a bit of garlic and crush it between the teeth, mix with chopped horseradish seeds or saltpeter, make into a paste with human milk, form pills and introduce one into the nostril on the opposite side to where the pain is felt” (15). If that didn’t work, you could always rub a small arsenic pill near the tooth (yeck!!) You’ll be surprised by many of the other remedies and procedures used throughout the world. (617.6 WYN).

Whole Body Dentistry: This book is rather interesting in making the connection between how healthy gums and teeth promote wellness for the rest of our bodies. The author himself suffered from rheumatoid arthritis, years later he found out that it was because of his mercury fillings! (617.6 BRE)

Another book that leads into that same topic is Elements of Danger: Protecting Yourself Against the Hazards of Modern Dentistry. A very informative book that everyone should read, especially in the age of braces. According to the book, dentists use a plethora of toxic chemicals and metals which can lead to serious problems and even allergic reactions. A good read to stay informed about the choices you have in your dental treatment.(617.6 WAL).

I also accessed the Health and Wellness Resource Center via OWL’s website and found this interesting article about teeth pigmentation! Apparently some people’s teeth are more porous than others, and can absorb colored liquids more readily. You can access the site to search any health issue by going to our webpage and clicking on Online Research!

My conclusion: Although I didn’t find anything directly discussing the possible causes of blue teeth, I did find some very informative and fascinating information about teeth. From what I did read, I believe that my teeth probably absorbed the pigment from the raspberry juice in the Kombucha, thus forming the blueish color on my enamel. I will note that the color disappeared by the next day. I will also note that my friend’s mom drinks Kombucha and had a similar experience before as well (phew, I’m not the only one!).

Whether you have had blue teeth or not, I hope you’ll find the information in these books helpful, if not entertaining (as in the case of medieval dental procedures).

Sarai is the Publicity Coordinator/Library Assistant and is currently humming Bruce Springsteen’s new song “Lucky Day”!

11 Responses to “The Mysterious Case of the Blue Teeth!”

  1. A said

    the mystery continues! and we certainly did learn some outrageous facts on dentistry!

  2. carrie said

    EVERY time I drink any kind of kombucha, my teeth turn blue! It comes off with brushing. I can’t find anything on the internet about it. Very creepy. Let me know if you find anything!

  3. kathryn said

    I have only observed two or three people whose teeth appear blue/white from veneers or
    bleaching process at dentist what is this procedure? One woman was a Stewardess the other an employment agency recruiter who worked in tv advertising. They were happy about their teeth but it seemed EXTREME
    I would like a few steps down

  4. One day we were in our restaurant, and I was having a spinach entree.

    My son said to me, Mom, you need to go to the bathroom, and get that spinach off your teeth, and when I cleaned them, the stain remained, so I have been making preparations to go to dentist, but someone told me that it is caused by mercury—-I just thought I had a dead tooth overnight. She told me that a tooth whitener would take care of it, and I have been using one, and it has alleviated the situation a little. This tells me that if the tooth were dead the whitening would not restore it at all.
    I was just perusing the inernet to see if there might be a remedy for mercury stained teeth, and came across your web site. If I can’t find a satisfactory solution, then I will see my dentist. All of my other teeth are in excellent condition, as I see my dentist on a regular basis, and was surprised to see he had not discovered this. Seems if the tooth were dead, there would be a symtomatic precursor.

    Thank you so much in advance for any assistance you might provide.

    Shine Phelps

  5. oh i love alternative medicines, they are usually effective but with lesser bad side effects compared to conventional medicatio ‘

  6. you can say that alternative medicine is cheaper too and usually comes from natural sources ,`.

  7. zobu balināšana cenas…

    [...]The Mysterious Case of the Blue Teeth! « Oliver Wolcott Library[...]…

  8. I love looking through an article that can make people think.
    Also, thanks for allowing for me to comment!

  9. What’s up, this weekend is good for me, since this point in time i am reading this great educational paragraph here at my home.

  10. I started a cleanse this morning, and my teeth have promptly turned BLUE! my co-worker noticed it from 8 feet away. For breakfast & lunch (so far) I’ve eaten a veggie stir-fry made with gobs and gobs of Coconut Oil (the main source of 3-days calories). The vegetables were Kale, Red Onion, Garlic, Celery, Basil & Cilantro. I also took in some Turmeric spice, which is orange. Wierd.

  11. I seriously love your site.. Excellent colors & theme. Did you create
    this website yourself? Please reply back as I’m hoping to create my very own blog and want to know where you got this from or what the theme is named. Kudos!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 248 other followers

